Muddy River Mashers
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A forum for the Muddy River Mashers Homebrew Club of Bismarck ND.

Home  Calendar  Latest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  MRM Main Site  
This forum is no longer active!
For the new Muddy River Masher Forums, please visit MuddyRiverMashers.org.

Oktoberfest Recipe Construction

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
dkwandt

dkwandt

Oktoberfest Recipe Construction Empty
PostSubject: Re: Oktoberfest Recipe Construction   Oktoberfest Recipe Construction EmptyFri Mar 18, 2011 3:15 pm

doing a 90 min boil will drive out the DMS (cooked or canned corn flavor). which can be common flavor from pilsner malt.

looking at the recipe you might extend your mash time due to the low temp, but at 50 it could go either way.

Back to top Go down
mathwich

mathwich

PostSubject: Re: Oktoberfest Recipe Construction   Oktoberfest Recipe Construction EmptyFri Mar 18, 2011 2:45 pm

Total newbie question - why would pilsner require a longer boil?
Back to top Go down
http://www.mathwichphotography.com
dkwandt

dkwandt

PostSubject: Re: Oktoberfest Recipe Construction   Oktoberfest Recipe Construction EmptyThu Mar 17, 2011 12:37 pm

my only suggestion to this recipe would be sugest a 90 min boil, because of all the pilsner malt you are using. otherwise looks good
Back to top Go down
Michaeljeffreythomas

Michaeljeffreythomas

PostSubject: Re: Oktoberfest Recipe Construction   Oktoberfest Recipe Construction EmptyThu Mar 17, 2011 10:41 am

I think that looks good. I would like to do a 10 gallon brew.
Back to top Go down
Eric

Eric

PostSubject: Oktoberfest Recipe Construction   Oktoberfest Recipe Construction EmptyThu Mar 17, 2011 12:01 am